IPM RAS / About / Persons / V. Gavrilenko

Pursue your calling

In: «Poisk-NN\\' Journal, № 12 (139) December 2011

Our correspondent met with Vladimir Izyaslavovich Gavrilenko, Vice-Director of the Institute for Physics of Microstructures of the Russian Academy of Science, Head of semiconductor physics department with this institute, USSR State Prize winner, professor, Doctor of physical and mathematical sciences, for a good reason. Just days before the New Year’s eve, on 15 December 2011, he marked his 60th birthday. And the bigger part of his life right from the school bench has been devoted to science.

Vladimir I. Gavrilenko was born in Gorky (Nizhny Novgorod). In 1966 our famed school No. 40 that for many years was headed by Veniamin Ya. Veksler extended admission of bright capable students. Volodya Gavrilenko was enrolled in the 8th grade as a physics contests -"olympiads'- winner. The physics teacher in that class was Nelly M. Zvereva, an excellent educator and a striking personality, and so physics became his favourite subject.

Says Vladimir Izyaslavovich: «When you are keen on something, it comes easier to you. I started by participating in school and regional olympiads and was lucky. After winning the first prize at the regional contest, I went on to take part in the 1st All-Union Olympiad that was held in the Moscow Institute of Physics and Technology (MIPT) in Dolgoprudny near Moscow. I got the first prize and fell in love with this institute — from then on I looked forward to studying physics only there'.

He graduated from MIPT in 1975. This higher school has a tradition of getting their graduate students engaged in research work at academic and departmental research institutes. V. I. Gavrilenko received his diploma from the Lebedev Physical Institute (FIAN), where he also did his postgraduate studies. His scientific advisors were Viktor S. Vavilov, son of Sergey I. Vavilov, and Vladimir N. Murzin. In 1978, at 27, when he was already affiliated with the Institute of Applied Physics RAS, he defended his PhD thesis. Two years before completing the PhD course he got married. And it is natural that his scientific and private life has since been inseparable from the hometown. In 1993 a decision was made on establishing the Institute for Physics of Microstructures RAS in Nizhny Novgorod. By this act the Academy authorities acknowledged the world-level competence of the Nizhny Novgorod physicists in the fields of solid-state nanostructures, high-temperature superconductivity and x-ray optics. A convincing evidence of such recognition is that the institute was housed in a specially constructed building, which was an out-of-the-ordinary event in the early 1990s. V. I. Gavrilenko has been with the IPM RAS since 1994.

It should be said that even with the scientist’s comments it is rather difficult to understand what’s what in a research institute. We therefore take the liberty of straying from the main story to introduce the reader to the scope of problems of concern to the Department of semiconductor physics in addition to what its Head has to say.

Department of semiconductor physics is the largest of all departments in IPM RAS. There are over 60 employees including graduate and post-graduate students. The main trends of research activity include the physical foundations of development of silicon optoelectronics in the near-IR range and the problems of extending semiconductor nanostructures to the terahertz range.


V.I. Gavrilenko: «When I came back to Gorky and began working at the Institute of Applied Physics RAS, the topic of my research changed completely. It was a stressful situation for me. For a few years I did not have a single publication. But that I came from another place proved very useful. Nizhny Novgorod is renowned for radiophysics. I joined a strong research team that was working on a problem requiring experiments in pulsed electric fields. We had a lab in our division with highly competent radio specialists working in it. But, for some reason, they were unable to combine their knowledge with the hands-on experience. And I brought charts and drawings. I got down to soldering work and made a few devices that helped us start experimenting. Those experiments allowed us to discover effects that had never been observed before. Some groups in our division were engaged in a study of hot carriers in such relatively simple material as p-type germanium. I was directly involved in this work that resulted in creation of a new type of laser in the terahertz range and was awarded the State Prize.

The 1987 USSR State Prize for science and technology, «Inverted distributions of hot charge carriers in semiconductors and generation of stimulated emission in the millimeter, submillimeter and FIR ranges' (V.I. Gavrilenko is one of the twelve laureates). New physical effects arising by dynamic heating of charge carriers in semiconductors under strong electric and magnetic fields and causing substantial deformation of the distribution function, localization and accumulation of carriers in the selected areas of momentum space were predicted, discovered and studied in detail. Stimulated emission was for the first time produced in the inverted systems of hot holes in germanium, and world’s first laboratory models of semiconductor masers and lasers in the short-wave part of millimeter, submillimeter and far-IR (terahertz) ranges were developed.

V.I. Gavrilenko: 'The research was rapidly progressing and in 1984 two groups in our division succeeded in generating stimulated emission. In one group the effect was obtained in crossed fields, while Z.F. Krasilnik, myself and our colleagues observed it in parallel electric and magnetic fields. Unfortunately, those devices, although very interesting from the physical point of view, have not found practical application, again for some purely physical reasons. This work turned out to be textbook material.

In 1992 I defended my doctoral thesis. Since that time, when still at the Institute of Applied Physics, I began working on semiconductor quantum well heterostuctures on germanium and silicon basis. And all of my further research activities have been connected with the terahertz spectroscopy of semiconductor nanostructures'.

The idea of using structures with heterotransitions in semiconductor electronics was put forward in the early 1950s, at the dawn of electronics, but few took it seriously at the time. However, already in the late XX century the Nobel Committee thought it right to award a prize for the «fundamental work in the field of information and communication technologies'. It is this area of human activity that has seen major breakthroughs in recent decades. Says Zhores I. Alferov, Russian scientist, Nobel Prize winner:'The outstanding achievements in physics and technology of semiconductor heterostructures have led to remarkable changes in our daily life… We can hardly imagine our life today without telecommunication systems based on double heterostructure lasers, without heterostructure LEDs and bipolar transistors, without low-noise high electron mobility transistors used in high-frequency devices including satellite television systems'.

V.I. Gavrilenko: «Advancing research into the terahertz range is very important. As a matter of fact, there are no such wavelengths that would not be of use to man. Electromagnetic waves of the terahertz range are reflected by metals but they penetrate plastics, paper, dry wood and all sorts of turbid media and fine materials. The rotational spectra of many organic molecules, including fluctuations of biologically important collective modes of DNA and proteins lie in the terahertz range. There is, for example, such a problem as development of airport safety systems. The Japanese have for a few years already been using a system that «sees through' airmail. In the 1990s we found it hard to develop experimental research. We did not have the necessary equipment, people quit. It got easier when several groups at the Institute received support from the Soros foundation in 1994. The 20% overheads covered the purchase of office equipment for the all-institute service departments and wiring of the first computer networks. Our group had the largest project in Nizhny Novgorod region (about 100 000 USD). The topic of research was germanium-silicon structures. The project budget allowed us to buy computers and spare parts for the imported equipment. Yet, life once again showed that money is not everything. Of the team that was involved in the fulfillment of that project very few stayed at the Institute.

The problem of personnel is the most acute one, indeed. At IPM RAS we have a base faculty of the Lobachevsky State University of Nizhny Novgorod (NNSU), Physics of nanostructures and nanoelectronics, that offers training for students from all of the NNSU three physical departments. When students choose to specialize in IPM RAS, some courses on their university curriculum are replaced by the special courses taught at our faculty.

To have undergraduates clearly understand what they will do as senior students if they decide on our faculty for majoring in their special field, an experimental training-research program had been elaborated. For a few weeks third-year students are to work on their experiments at the institute labs where the main investigations are underway, side by side with the IPM researchers. Then they go to another lab and can do another experiment. In one term they manage to perform two or three experimental studies, and it does happen that some students ask for a permission to stay at the Institute another term. When the training-research experiment is over, we hold a conference for the students to share their learning experience with each other. Only afterwards they make a decision on where they will do their course work and later on the bachelor’s, master’s and, possibly, PhD research. Those students who have finally chosen our base faculty are supposed to participate in the students' conference as a mandatory form of reporting their progress. The conference is held once a semester, in December and May, and each student is to speak about his/her current work and achievements. Besides, we have a regular educational workshop for graduate and post-graduate students. It is quite popular with both graduates and mature scientists and is usually attended by 80-90 people.

Since the early 2000s young professionals started coming to the Institute and at first we took on nearly all. Now we are more demanding of personnel selection. Our prime consideration here is whether the young candidate is capable of a creative approach to science. There are many examples of brilliant university graduates who then proved unable to make it as a successful scientist.

Among those who stay with us there are no mediocrities. Аnd some are genuinely talented. Here is a recent example. A very gifted young scientist, Sergey Krishtopenko, on completing his postgraduate studies simultaneously in Russia and France, defended his PhD thesis at the University of Toulouse in November 2011. He came to IPM RAS as a third-year student and in the study of quantum mechanics he calculated the energy spectrum in narrow-band heterostructures we were then investigating. For the second time in my life I chose a theorist for a PhD student, and was right. Sergey went on providing theoretical background for our experimental tasks and in a short while advanced beyond the level of competence of the «adult\\' scientists in our institute. He is now affiliated with the IPM RAS. The Academy allocated four fixed wages to young scientists for a period of three years and one was given to S. Kryshtopenko as the only postgraduate to have presented his thesis immediately after the PhD studies. Last summer he inspired his young colleagues-experimentalists and together they discovered the spin resonance in 2D electron gas in InAs/AlSb quantum wells, that had been predicted by Sergey. It is a pioneering work'.

In terms of practical applications, the history of the semiconductor lasers development is largely the history of combatting their threshold currents to reduce the laser generation threshold. Indeed, high currents involve high dissipated powers and, consequently, overheating and fast deterioration of semiconductor structures. Low threshold currents ensure long-lived miniature laser devices. And, while classical heterostructures have expanded the technological horizons, the low-dimensional semiconductor heterostructures offer a virtually unlimited research, technology and engineering freedom. By adjusting a heterostructure parameters, researchers today can form structures with any desired properties.

The complicated growth and experimental techniques require considerable spending. Nevertheless, the current level of Russian science in this field is quite high.

V.I. Gavrilenko: 'My group of experimenters is engaged in the terahertz spectroscopy. To work successfully we primarily need world’s quality samples. The fundamental studies require low temperatures and high magnetic fields, and in this area we have not advanced far since the 1980s, which corresponds to the world’s level of the 60s. We have to do many things in foreign laboratories. Now there is an opportunity to purchase equipment. Last year we bought a cryostat with a superconducting solenoid magnet of 12T. Next year’s plans include the purchase of a helium liquefying refrigerator. We are also going to set up a collector of helium gas so it can be re-used.

In science I am interested in finding things that no one has ever seen before. And something new does turn up from time to time. Nothing can compare with the thrill of discovery I experienced when we got stimulated emission in germanium. I wish our students would advance farther in our science and never lose this ability to wonder and delight in research'.

The high creative potential, skillful handling of the soviet-time technological background, expertise and wide international cooperation allow the IPMRAS researchers to maintain the cutting-edge science standards.

Interviewed by M. Goryunova

© 2000—2018, IPM RAS.
E-mail: director@ipmras.ru

Address: Academicheskaya Str., 7, Afonino, Nizhny Novgorod region, Kstovsky district, Kstovo region, 603087, Russia

Phone: +7 831 4179473,
Fax: +7 831 4179464,
Mail address: GSP-105, Nizhny Novgorod, 603950, Russia

РусскийEnglish

Найди свое призвание!

Статья в газете «Поиск-НН», № 12 (139) декабрь 2011 г.

Встреча корреспондента журнала «Поиск-НН» с заместителем директора Института физики микроструктур Российской академии наук, заведующим отделом физики полупроводников этого института, лауреатом Государственной премии СССР, профессором, д. ф.-м.н. Владимиром Изяславовичем Гавриленко не была случайной. В канун Нового года 15 декабря 2011 г. ученому исполнилось 60 лет. И большая часть его сознательной жизни, начиная со школьной скамьи, была связана с наукой.

Владимир Изяславович — нижегородец. В 1966 г. состоялся расширенный набор способных ребят в нашу знаменитую 40-ю школу, директором которой долгие годы был Вениамин Яковлевич Векслер. В его 8-й класс по итогам олимпиады и поступил Володя Гавриленко. Физику вела прекрасный педагог и незаурядный человек Нелли Матвеевна Зверева. И физика стала его любимым предметом.

Вот как об этом рассказывает сам Владимир Изяславович: «Когда чем-то увлекаешься, то оно легче дается. Стал участвовать в школьных, районных олимпиадах. Мне везло. Занял первое место на областной олимпиаде. Поехал на 1-ю Всесоюзную олимпиаду, которая проходила в Московском физико-техническом институте, что под Москвой в Долгопрудном. Получил первую премию. И институт запал в душу, и возникло желание там учиться физике».

В.И Гавриленко окончил МФТИ в 1975 г. Этот институт известен тем, что студенты старших курсов включаются в исследовательскую работу в базовых институтах — и академических, и ведомственных. Диплом защищал в Физическом институте им. П. Н. Лебедева (ФИАН), там же поступил в аспирантуру. Научными руководителями его были Виктор Сергеевич Вавилов, сын Сергея Ивановича Вавилова, и Владимир Николаевич Мурзин. В 1978 г. (в 27 лет), работая уже в ИПФ РАН, защитил кандидатскую диссертацию. За два года до окончания аспирантуры женился. И, вполне естественно, что и личная, и научная жизнь с тех пор была связана с родным городом. В 1993 г. было принято решение о создании в Н. Новгороде Института физики микроструктур РАН. Тем самым руководство РАН подтвердило мировой уровень работ нижегородских физиков в области физики твердотельных наноструктур, высокотемпературной сверхпроводимости и рентгеновской оптики. Более того, институт разместился в специально построенном здании, что для начала 90-х было явно нерядовым событием. С 1994 г. В. И. Гавриленко и работает в этом институте.

Нужно сказать, что даже с комментариями ученого понять, что к чему в научном институте, довольно сложно. Поэтому разрешим себе делать некоторые отступления, знакомя читателей с проблемами, решением которых занимается отдел физики полупроводников, не только со слов его заведующего.

Отдел физики полупроводников является самым большим среди всех отделов ИФМ РАН. В отделе работают более 60 сотрудников, включая студентов иаспирантов. Основные направления деятельности отдела физики полупроводников института физики микроструктур — физические основы развитиякремниевой оптоэлектроники ближнегоИК диапазона и освоение терагерцовогодиапазона с использованием полупроводниковых наноструктур.

В.И Гавриленко: «Когда я вернулся в Горький и начал работать в ИПФАНе, то тематика моих исследований поменялась полностью. Ситуация для меня была стрессовая. Несколько лет не было публикаций. Но то, что я пришел из другого места, оказалось очень полезным. Нижний — славен радиофизикой. Я влился в сильную научную группу, которая работала над проблемой, требующей проведения экспериментов в импульсных электрических полях. В нашем отделе была лаборатория, где работали специалисты, очень сильные в радиотехнике. Однако почему-то их знания и умения никак не могли объединиться. Я же привез схемы, чертежи. Стал паять, сделал несколько приборов, которые позволили начать проводить эксперименты. В этих экспериментах сразу были обнаружены эффекты, которые до этого не наблюдались. Несколько групп в отделе занимались горячими носителями в таком достаточно простом материале, как дырочный германий. Эта работа, в которой и я принимал непосредственное участие, завершившаяся созданием новых типов лазеров в терагерцовом диапазоне, была отмечена Государственной премией.

Государственная премия СССР в области науки и техники 1987 г. «Инвертированные распределения горячих носителей заряда в полупроводниках и генерация стимулированного излучения в ММ, СБММ и ДИК диапазонах» (Среди 12 лауреатов и В. И. Гавриленко). Предсказаны, обнаружены и детально исследованы новые физические явления, возникающие при динамическом разогреве носителей заряда в полупроводниках в сильных электрических и магнитных полях, приводящем к значительной деформации функции распределения, локализации и накоплению носителей в выделенных областях импульсного пространства. Впервые получено стимулированное излучение в инвертированных системах горячих дырок в Ge и созданы первые в мире лабораторные образцы полупроводниковых мазеров и лазеров коротковолновой части миллиметрового, субмиллиметрового и дальнего ИК (терагерцового) диапазонов.

В.И. Гавриленко: «Эти исследования развивались достаточно быстро, и в 1984 г. двумя группами в нашем отделе было получено стимулированное излучение. Одна группа получила эффект в скрещенных полях, а З. Ф. Красильник и я с коллегами — в параллельных электрическом и магнитном полях. К сожалению, эти приборы, очень интересные с физической точки зрения, по ряду опять же чисто физических условий не нашли практического применения. Это оказалась работа для учебников.

В 1992 г. защитил докторскую диссертацию. С этого года еще в ИПФ РАН начал заниматься полупроводниковыми гетероструктурами на основе германия и кремния с квантовыми ямами. И все мои дальнейшие исследования связаны с терагерцовой спектроскопией полупроводниковых наноструктур».

Идея использования структур с гетеропереходами в полупроводниковой электронике была выдвинута уже на заре развития электроники, в начале 50-х годов, хотя в то время ее мало кто воспринимал всерьез. Но уже в конце XX века Нобелевский комитет счел необходимым присудить премию «за основополагающие работы в области информационных и коммуникационных технологий». Именно в этой области человеческой деятельности в последние десятилетия происходят революционные изменения. Вот что об этом говорит Нобелевский лауреат, русский ученый Жорес Иванович Алферов: «Развитие физики и технологии полупроводниковых гетероструктур привело к значительным переменам в нашей повседневной жизни… Едва ли можно вообразить нашу жизнь без телекоммуникационных систем, основанных на лазерах с двойной гетероструктурой, без гетероструктурных светодиодов и биполярных транзисторов, без малошумящих транзисторов с высокой подвижностью электронов, применяющихся в высокочастотных устройствах, в том числе в системах спутникового телевидения».

В.И. Гавриленко: «Освоение терагерцового диапазона очень важно. У человечества вообще нет ненужных диапазонов. Электромагнитные волны терагерцового диапазона отражаются металлами, но они проникают через пластмассы, бумагу, сухую древесину и любые мутные среды и мелкодисперсные материалы. В терагерцовом диапазоне лежат вращательные спектры многих органических молекул, включая колебания биологически важных коллективных мод ДНК и белков. Есть, например, такая проблема — создание систем безопасности в аэропортах. Японцы уже несколько лет используют систему, которая «просвечивает» авиапочту. В 90-е годы развивать экспериментальные исследования было сложно. Не было необходимого оборудования, уходили сотрудники. Стало полегче, когда несколько групп в Институте в 1994 г. получили поддержку от фонда Сороса. За счет 20%-х отчислений на накладные расходы закупили оргтехнику для общеинститутских служб, провели первые компьютерные сети. У нашей группы был тогда самый крупный проект в Нижегородской области (около 100 тыс. долларов). Тематика — германий-кремниевые структуры. Проект дал возможность купить компьютеры, запчасти для импортного оборудования. Однако жизнь еще раз показала, что деньги не все определяют. Из той команды, которая выполняла этот проект, в институте почти никого не осталось.

Действительно, самой острой стала проблема кадров. В ИФМ РАН есть базовая кафедра Нижегородского государственного университета им. Н. И. Лобачевского — «Физика наноструктур и наноэлектроника«, на которой могут обучаться студенты всех трех физических факультетов ННГУ. В тех случаях, когда студенты выбирают специализацию в нашем Институте, часть учебной нагрузки той кафедры, с которой они к нам пришли, им заменяют курсами и спецкурсами нашей кафедры.

Чтобы показать, что ждет студентов на старших курсах, если они выберут для специализации нашу кафедру, был разработан экспериментальный практикум. Студенты-третьекурсники в течение нескольких недель выполняют в институтских лабораториях эксперименты на рабочих местах, где ведутся основные исследования. А рядом с ними работают научные сотрудники института. Потом они переходят в другую лабораторию и могут выполнить другой эксперимент. За семестр им удается провести два-три экспериментальных исследования, причем некоторые студенты просят разрешить им остаться в Институте еще на семестр. Когда учебно-научный эксперимент заканчивается, проводится конференция, на которой студенты делятся друг с другом тем, чему они научились. И только после этого они принимают решение, где им делать курсовую работу, а вслед за ней — бакалаврскую, магистерскую и, возможно, кандидатскую диссертацию. Для тех же, кто в итоге выбрал нашу базовую кафедру, введена обязательная форма отчетности — участие в студенческой конференции. Один раз за семестр, в декабре и в мае, учащиеся должны на ней выступить и рассказать, как движется их работа. Кроме того, у нас существует постоянный образовательный семинар студентов и аспирантов. Он весьма популярен и обычно собирает 80-90 участников, в числе которых и маститые ученые.

С начала 2000-х годов в Институт стали приходить и закрепляться молодые кадры, и поначалу мы брали почти всех. Теперь к отбору подходим более строго. Нам в первую очередь важно понять, способен ли молодой человек к научному творчеству. Есть немало примеров, когда студент блестяще оканчивал университет, а успешный ученый из него не получался.

Среди тех, кто приходит к нам на работу, бездарей нет. А вот талантливые, по-настоящему талантливые встречаются. Вот свежий пример. Очень способный молодой ученый Сергей Криштопенко, обучавшийся в совместной российско-французской аспирантуре, 10 ноября 2011 защитил диссертацию в университете Тулузы. Пришел к нам на третьем курсе и, изучая квантовую механику, рассчитал энергетический спектр в исследуемых нами тогда узкозонных гетероструктурах. Я второй раз в жизни взял к себе аспирантом теоретика и не ошибся. Он взялся и дальше теоретически «сопровождать» решаемые нами экспериментальные задачи и быстро продвинулся за уровень компетенции «взрослых» ученых в нашем институте. Сейчас он работает у нас — Академия дала четыре ставки на три года для молодых ученых, и одна из них стала его как единственного представившего кандидатскую диссертацию по окончании аспирантуры. Прошедшим летом он вдохновил молодых коллег-экспериментаторов и вместе с ними обнаружил предсказанный им спиновый резонанс в двумерном электронном газе в квантовых ямах InAs/AlSb. Это пионерская работа».

С точки зрения практического применения, история развития полупроводниковых лазеров — это в значительной степени история борьбы за снижение их порогового тока, при котором начинается лазерная генерация. Действительно, большие токи — это большие рассеиваемые мощности, соответственно, перегрев и ускоренная деградация полупроводниковой структуры. Малые пороговые токи — это долгоживущие миниатюрные лазерные устройства. И если классические гетероструктуры открыли новые технологические горизонты, то использование низкоразмерных полупроводниковых гетероструктур дает исследователям, технологам и инженерам практически неограниченную свободу рук. Путем подбора параметров гетероструктуры исследователи теперь в состоянии получать структуры с требуемыми свойствами.

Сложные методики роста, сложные экспериментальные методики - все это требует значительных финансовых затрат. Тем не менее пока уровень российских научных работ в этой области остается достаточно высоким.

В.И. Гавриленко: «Моя группа экспериментаторов занимается терагерцовой спектроскопией. Чтобы успешно работать, нужны, прежде всего, образцы мирового уровня. Для фундаментальных исследований нужны низкие температуры и сильные магнитные поля, а здесь мы недалеко продвинулись после 80-х годов, что соответствует мировому уровню 60-х. Многое приходится делать в зарубежных лабораториях. Сейчас появилась возможность приобретать оборудование. В прошлом году купили криостат с сверхпроводящим магнитным соленоидом на 12 Тл. На следующий год планируется приобрести рефрижератор для ожижения гелия. Будет создана инфраструктура для сбора газообразного гелия, что позволит использовать его несколько раз.

В науке мне интересно находить то, что никто никогда не видел. И что-то новое время от времени получается. Ни с чем не сравнить восторг открытия, который испытал, когда получили стимулированное излучение в германии. Хотелось бы, чтобы наши ученики продвигались дальше нас и не теряли эту способность удивляться и восхищаться».

Высокий творческий потенциал, умелое использование советского технологического задела и широкая международная кооперация позволяют исследователям Института быть на переднем крае науки.

Беседовала М. Горюнова

© 2000—2018, ИФМ РАН.
E-mail: director@ipmras.ru

Фактический адрес: ул. Академическая, д. 7, д. Афонино, Нижегородская обл., Кстовский район, 603087, Россия
Схема проезда, Документ WordТелефоны сотрудников (240 Kбайт)

Tелефон: (831) 417–94–73,
Факс: (831) 417–94–64,
Адрес для писем: ГСП-105, Нижний Новгород, 603950, Россия